quinta bamboo logo
Tel: (+351) 968 522 865 info@quintabamboo.com Povoa de Midões, Tábua, Portugal

Guest reviews

Current reviews: 25
Submit your own review
August 2018 by Florence, CA
„Le site exceptionnel de cette maison haut perchée nous a enchantés, sans compter la gentillesse et la disponibilité des propriétaires. Un havre de paix vraiment, idéal pour se ressourcer après les visites possibles à Coimbra, Porto ou dans la forêt de Bussaco. Charme indéniable!“
July 2018 by Celine, BE
in your life, you get the opportunity to feel home in some places.... this small cabin at quinta bamboo is one of them for me: an inspiring place where i stay for a week by my own... a way to experiment simply life in a quiet and peaceful surrounder. another gift was the morning private yoga class with martina in the deck of the garden... more or less, you will probabely not want to go much further than the quinta such the cabin and its surrounder is welcoming you as home... the perfect place to relaxe for a couple, close friend or alone... the quinta that martina and its fellow did created is a small paradise that they share with the generous nature and the inhabitants of the earth...
February 2018 by Anthony, UK
Bernd and Martina are not hosts. They become friends. From the moment you arrive to the day you leave you are warmly greeted, cared for and also provide a vast array of food produce from their gardens. 20 years in the making, Quinta Bamboo has provided a quiet, calming atmosphere to rest up for as long as you need. I took shelter in the beautifully rustic, simply elegant bamboo zen abode for 2 months to write a film. It was the perfect atmosphere for head space and a simple life style. You leave the retreat feeling fresh and centered. Bernd and Martina hold the lovely traits of always being there for you, but leave you to your own devices. Never before have I been to a place where I felt more like a member of the family than a guest. Highly recommend Quinta Bamboo for its peaceful location, quality housing and beautiful friends 🙂
December 2017 by Manuela, ZA
We had a relaxing and quiet time at Quinta Bamboo, just what we were looking for. Bernd and Martina were great hosts. They were very caring, trusting and helpful. They have many years of experience in their respective disciplines (Yoga, Wing Chun, Taekwando) and taught them to us with patience and at a very fair price. They also generously shared the fruits of their garden with us and always found the perfect middle ground between checking in on whether we needed anything and giving us our space The apartment itself is bright with many windows, well-designed and well-equipped with personal touches and an eye for detail which we enjoyed. We especially liked the fireplace and the unobstructed views. Something to keep in mind is that the second bathroom with the showers has a separate entrance in the lower level of the house.
November 2017 by Kathy, US
This is an amazing place! The apartment is beautifully situated with great views all around. It is spacious, well equipped, comfortable and serene. The hosts are wonderful people and communication with them was easy. We were there for 5 nights and were sad to leave. This is truly a special place and I highly recommend it.
October 2017 by Heidi, US
Martina and Bernd are welcoming and generous hosts who have a lovely little piece of paradise here in Portugal. The wooden zen house is perfectly situated with lots of light and windows looking out at the surrounding terraces and hills. It is very peaceful yet close to neighboring towns such as Tabua where they have a fantastic farmer’s market, restaurants, shopping, banks, etc. I utilized the shala for daily yoga practice and enjoyed cozying up by the wood stove at night with a good book and a glass of wine. They made sure that I had everything that I needed to be comfortable. I will definitely return.
September 2017 by Cornelius, DE
Die wirklich toll gelegene Quinta von Martina und Bernd, die im übrigen auch mit all den Angeboten sehr gut beschrieben ist, so dass wir schon eine gute Vorstellung hatten, was uns erwarten würde, war ein sehr schönes Erlebnis für uns. Wir hatten nicht die Zeit all das auszukosten, was die beiden auf ihrer Quinta zu bieten haben. Wir wurden bestens versorgt mit den Früchten und dem Gemüse, was die Quinta zu bieten hat, so dass wir sie immer nur schweren Herzens verließen, wenn wir andere Pläne hatten. Es ist alles vorhanden, was man braucht und sehr liebevoll und natürlich eingerichtet. Die Sonnenuntergänge auf der Terrasse mit einem Glas Federweißer von dem selbst geernteten Wein der Quinta in der Hand werden wir so schnell nicht wieder vergessen. Auch haben die beiden sehr wertvolle Tips für all die, die das Land und die Leute in Portugal kennenlernen wollen. So haben wir etliche Kontakte dort herstellen können. Auch unserer kleinen Tochter hat es dort sehr gut gefallen und durch die terrassenförmige Quinta ist sie jetzt eine mutige Kletterin geworden… Wenn es etwas Negatives zu sagen gibt, dann dass leider auch dort die Zeit nicht stillsteht und man irgendwann wieder Abschied nehmen muss…
September 2017 by Chen, NL
What a gem! We truly fell in love with Martina and Bernd’s place. They built a place where you can easily feel at home. They gave us such a warm welcome and were there for anything we needed. The apartment is well thought of, with all the necessary necessities and amenities. Comfy bed, plenty of room and seating and a great modern bathroom. The house is beautifully integrated into the rock and the surroundings. And the view is fantastic! We enjoyed it so much, that we decided to have our breakfasts and dinners outside on the balcony. Additionally, the location is ideal to explore all nature around. Four days are just not enough:-) It was really helpful to have a car, as the area has so much to offer, even the little villages and towns around. Martina and Bernd are great hosts – incredibly accommodating, fast with communication and detailed with their recommendations. We recommend guests to try the yoga and martial art practices. Both Martina and Bernd are experienced instructors, who truly devoted themselves to share their passion with others. We loved our lessons with them and highly recommend this place to the Airbnb community and others.
September 2017 by Patrick, US
Our stay in the cabin at Quinta Bamboo was, I suspect, exactly the kind of experience Airbnb hoped to make possible when it created the platform. Bernd was as gracious and thoughtful a host as one could hope for — insisting on helping carry our luggage from the car to the cabin (which he built by hand), and back when we left. The quinta is just as advertised: remote, quiet, and nestled in a bamboo grove on a terraced, rocky patch of land with a lovely view of the sunset. Small details abounded: fresh tomato, basil and mozzarella awaited us in the fridge; jars of organic, home-pressed olive oil and honey in the kitchen. Best of all was the bounty of fruit and vegetables growing on every corner of the property: peaches, apples, figs, eggplants, herbs, and of course enough grapes to feed an army. A remote little paradise: though a superb WiFi connection was there to help it seem less remote when we had a Netflix fix to attend to. We certainly hope to return.
August 2017 by Catherine, CA
La maison de Martina et Bernd est idéalement située, tout en haut de la vallée qui s’étend devant nous et qu’on peut admirer d’une des deux magnifiques terrasses. Nous sommes au coeur de la nature, dans un endroit plein de magie entretenu avec soin et amour par les hôtes qui sont attentionnés et discrets. L’accès n’est pas si facile, mais l’effort en vaut la peine: la maison est très propre, lumineuse, aérée, commode et chaleureuse. En plus de la maison qui est superbe et de l’environnement qui est enchanteur, nous avons pu suivre des cours de Ashtanga Yoga et de Kung Fu, disciplines dont les hôtes sont des enseignants expérimentés et professionnels. Nous avions réservé pour trois nuits, mais nous y serions restés beaucoup plus longtemps dans le plus simple et pur bonheur. C’est avec grand plaisir que nous y retournerons dès que possible! Si vous cherchez une expérience riche et douce à la fois, Quinta Bamboo saura vous combler!
August 2017 by Samuel, FR
Séjour agréable, reposant. Nos hôtes sont des personnes très agréables , disponibles et non intrusives. Ce séjour est a recommander pour des personnes qui recherchent la tranquillité, le contacte avec la nature en retrait de la ville. Nous avons aimé les activités proposées. Nous espérons revenir très vite. Merci à Martina et Bernardo
July 2017 by Grégory, CH
Nous avons passé un excellent et ressourçant séjour de 5 jours dans ce lieu si paisible entouré de verdure. La maison est superbe et on s’y sent tout de suite comme chez soi. Nous n’avions plus envie de partir!!! Martina et Bernd nous on accueilli chaleureusement dans leur paradis. Ils sont adorables,discrets tout en prenant grand soin de leurs invités. L’endroit est isolé,mais possibilité de multiples activités à la quinta (yoga, art martial, tir à l’arc) et aux alentours ( plages fluviales, randonnées). Excellents cours de yoga donné par Martina . Nous recommandons vivement pour les amoureux de nature.
July 2017 by Monique, NL
We’ve had an amazing holiday. Martina and Bernd are wonderful hosts. Before the holiday Martina was very helpful and responded very quick to our messages with questions. Once we arrived, they picked us up and helped us carry our luggage. We never had to ask for anything, everything was arranged very well. The house itself is very clean, with a few terraces where you can enjoy the lovely weather and surroundings. The neighborhood is absolutely great to visit. Nature is all around, and it is nice and quiet. There is lots to do such as great hiking trails, horse back riding, but also the yoga lessons from Martina were great. Overall, we do not have anything that we did not like. We will be back for sure! 🙂
April 2017 by Janet, AU
Martina and Bernd were so welcoming. They came and guided us into their lovely hillside retreat from a nearby town. Bernd carried my heavy case down to the beautifully renovated cottage. We enjoyed watching the sun go down in the evenings and painting the view across to the patch worked hillside. A classic Portuguese view:) Our walk to the river was picturesque and we loved stumbling across the ruins along the way. I wish we had stayed longer.
March 2017 by Noor Planken, NL
We realy enjoyed our stay at the Quinta Bamboo. The house is made with care. It’s basic but you have everything you need and it’s very cosy. The surrounding of the little house is beautiful. And the owners are realy nice and caring. We would absolutely recommend this place.
January 2017 by Francisco, PT
Estadia mais em paz e acolhedora seria difícil! A localização, a vista e o espaço tornam a Quinta num lugar de sonho! Ficamos a sentir que estamos num retiro num lugar que se divide entre o sensação dum lugar serrano misturado com um feeling mais exótico! A casa era fantástica! A Martina e o Bernd são super acessíveis e simpáticos e estiveram lá para nos ajudar no que precisámos! Um bónus maravilhoso foi a óptima aula de Yoga! Uma das várias actividades que este lugar e estas pessoas fantásticas, nos colocam à disposição por um preço justo! Um lugar para voltar a visitar!
January 2017 by Manuela Facchini, IT
We had a really good experience with Bernd and Martina. They welcomed us in a very nice way and helped us with whathever was needed during our stay. The apartment itself is very comfortable, clean and has everything you need. The location is very calm and with a wonderful view.
December 2016 by Ana Elisa Baptista, PT
Na Quinta Bamboo fomos recebidos como se fossemos família. A Martina é uma pessoa humilde e muito simpática… Fizemos uma sessão de Yoga maravilhosa de manhã no seu estúdio. A cabana está muito bem planeada, com todas as amenidades necessárias para desfrutar de uma experiência espiritual em comunhão com a natureza. Deixaram-nos fruta, azeite e jeropiga orgânica da sua quinta para provarmos. Têm uma gatinha super dada e simpática chamada Zuria que passou uma noite connosco dentro da cabana no quentinho. Recomendo vivamente a passagem por lá! A nossa certamente não será a última.
December 2016 by Sandy, UK
The apartment is designed very creatively, very cozy and spacious in the lovely surroundings. The place has this positive energy, full of character. The studio is very spacious it contains all that you need for a very comfortable stay. If you are lucky to travel in winter time you can take advantage of sitting by the log fire and enjoy the lovely local wine. Great host!
September 2016 by Anne, DK
I would like to recommend Quinta Bamboo Portugal since I had the most amazing experience there last week :o) ….. Daily Astanga yoga classes, homemade vegetarian meals with fruits and vegetables from the garden, eco-friendly housing, walks by the beautiful Mondego river. QuintaBamboo is so amazing and affordable at the same time NOT an expensive “yoga-yuppie-spa-retreat”!
August 2016 by Vera, NL
Fantastisch mooi huisje met hele vriendelijke hosts. Met wel 3 terrassen en een geweldig ingedeeld verblijf. De omgeving is ook echt de moeite. Na wat auto-problemen zelfs door hun opgehaald en weg gebracht van en naar het treinstation! Alles was mogelijk en bespreekbaar. Echt een fijn verblijf!
July 2016 by Mette, DK
Quinta Bamboo var lige det vi trængte allermest til. Et smukt gemmested der bød på masser af ro. Om morgenen dyrkede vi yoga med Martina og om aftenen nød vi solens sidste stråler fra den perfekt liggende terasse. De varme dage brugte vi på udflugter til de smukkeste omkringliggende floder og vandfald. Også her var familien meget hjælpsom til at anbefale gode steder at besøge.
February 2016 by Benedikt Henning, DE
Quinta Bamboo ist ein perfekter Ort für Menschen, die ihren Urlaub in Kontakt mit der Natur verbringen möchten. Zum einen ist das helle und großzügig geschnittene Gästehaus toll, um einfach auf der Terrasse mit Blick über den Garten oder auf dem Sessel vor dem Ofen zu sitzen. Zum anderen liegt der kleine Ort Povoa de Midoes gut gelegen um den nahegelegenen Nationalpark Serra de Estrela und die sehr schöne, umliegende Gegend zu erkunden. Außerdem sind Martina und Bernd entspannte und hilfsbereite Gastgeber, die mit ihren Angeboten, wie Yoga, Kampfsport, etc… einen runden und vielfältigen Aufenthalt ermöglichen. Sehr zu empfehlen für all diejenigen, die natur- und körperverbundenes Reisen ohne großen Trubel mögen oder perfekt auch als entspannte Zwischenstation vor, nach oder zwischen einem Besuch in den nicht weit entfernten Städten Lissabon, Porto oder Coimbra.
January 2016 by Sito, ES
Excelente espacio para relajarse y disfrutar de la naturaleza. Completamente recomendable tanto por la casa, como por el entorno como por los anfitriones.
August 2015 by Emmanuelle, FR
Pour les amoureux de nature un vrai petit coin de paradis! Martina et Bernd nous ont très bien accueillis. Leur maison si bien restaurée est chaleureuse et spacieuse. On a envie de profiter des extérieurs très calmes où, quelque soit le moment de la journée, on trouve un endroit à l’ombre: une terrasse, une chaise longue, un hamac. Sans oublier les pêches du jardin qui nous attendaient chaque jour. Merci encore pour cet agréable séjour. Nous reviendrons!
Submit your own review